TIMSS 2019 is the seventh cycle of the IEA Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study (TIMSS). The study was initiated in February 2017 at the first national research coordinators meeting. The Framework review and instrument development work was carried out in 2017. The field test was conducted in March 2018. The data collection for the main survey was predominantly carried out in October 2018 in the Southern Hemisphere and April 2019 in the Northern Hemisphere. The international reports will be released in December 2020.

TIMSS 2019 marked the debut of eTIMSS, an electronic version of TIMSS. More than half of the countries participating  administered the assessment via computer, while the rest of the countries administered TIMSS using paper-and-pencil tests, as in previous assessments.

The following education systems will participate in this round of TIMSS:

Albania Hungary Norway
Armenia Islamic Republic of Iran  Oman
Australia Ireland Pakistan
Austria Israel Philippines
Bahrain Italy Poland
Belgium Japan Romania
Bosnia and Herzegovina Jordan Portugal
Bulgaria Kazakhstan Qatar
Canada  (with Ontario and Quebec as benchmarking systems) Kosovo Romania
Chinese Taipei Kuwait Russian Federation (with Moscow as a benchmarking system)
Croatia Latvia Saudi Arabia
Cyprus Lebanon Serbia
Czech Republic  Lithuania Singapore
Denmark Republic of North Macedonia Slovak Republic
Egypt Malaysia  South Africa
England Malta Spain (with Madrid as a benchmarking system)
Finland Montenegro Sweden
France Morocco Turkey
Georgia Netherlands United Arab Emirates (with Abu Dhabi and Dubai as benchmarking systems)
Germany New Zealand United States
Hong Kong SAR Northern Ireland